The Clean Energy Council Awards, presented at the Australian Clean Energy Summit Gala Dinner, recognise excellence in the clean energy sector.

2018 Clean Energy Council Awards finalists

The following businesses have been recognised as finalists in the 2018 Clean Energy Council Awards.

Business Community Engagement Award

  • BJCE Australia offered clean energy grants to residents living within 5 km of the Gullen Range Wind Farm. An energy audit helps people understand the savings they can make to both their carbon emissions and power bills, and a second phase allows them to apply for a solar hot water or solar power system, or an energy efficiency package. The program is intended to run for the life of the wind farm and create positive relationships with the community.
  • Synergy partnered with the Science Teachers Association of Western Australia to create the Synergy Schools Solar Challenge. The idea was to get people in the community excited about the potential of new clean energy technologies such as solar to meet future energy needs. As part of the challenge, students in Year 6 and Year 8 were sent solar car kits, which helped them understand and apply the science behind renewable energy by building and racing them throughout the term.  
  • TasNetworks worked with the Australian National University and ARENA to turn 40 homes on Tasmania’s Bruny Island into “mini power stations”. The project involved installing rooftop solar and batteries, along with energy management software from Reposit Power that allows households to actively trade the energy they produce and store with their electricity provider. The project will help reduce diesel use and the island’s dependence on the cable connecting it with Tasmania.

Innovation Award

  • Aalborg CSP provided the concentrated solar thermal technology for Sundrop Farms in South Australia, which uses a combination of sea water and sunlight to grow vegetables in the desert. The highly innovative project grows 17,000 tonnes of tomatoes annually, representing 15 per cent of the country’s tomato market. The technology produces solar energy and desalinates sea water from the nearby Spencer Gulf.   
  • Energy Developments worked with ARENA to deliver the Coober Pedy Renewable Hybrid project for the District Council of Coober Pedy. Through a mix of wind, solar, batteries and advanced control systems, the project was able to reduce diesel use and emissions at a remote, iconic Australian mining town. The project successfully integrated variable renewable sources to provide a reliable power system.
  • Energy Queensland was able to bring together a diverse group of government departments to deliver affordable access to renewable energy for public housing tenants in one of the state’s least accessible communities. Residents of Lockhart River previously depended heavily on diesel power, and the project delivered solar and storage with intelligent control systems. The money saved from reducing diesel use is being returned to the community.
  • Tesla and Neoen partnered with the South Australian Government to build the world’s largest lithium battery. The project benefited from the personal involvement of Tesla founder Elon Musk, whose tweets became international news and gave the project plenty of public attention. The Hornsdale Power Reserve was delivered within the self-imposed 100-day deadline, in time for the 2017 summer.

Outstanding Contribution to Industry Award

The Outstanding Contribution to Industry Award will be presented to an individual who has made a major and sustained contribution to the clean energy industry. The winner will be announced at the NAB Gala Dinner at the Australian Clean Energy Summit.

Awards ceremony

The 2018 Clean Energy Council Awards will be presented on Tuesday 31 July at the NAB Gala Dinner at the 2018 Australian Clean Energy Summit.

Tickets to the NAB Gala Dinner and the 2018 Australian Clean Energy Summit are now available.

2017 award winners

You can see all the award winners and finalists from the 2017 Clean Energy Council Awards on the 2017 award winners page.

If you have any questions please email us at